Services /

Cloud providers

Azure Communication Services Email

Azure application email with SDKs, SMTP and engagement reporting.

WHEN TO CONSIDER IT

Consider when the application already uses Azure Communication Services.

WHAT TO CHECK FIRST

A separate Email Communication resource is required; recipient charges and data-volume charges both contribute to the bill.

Editorial interpretation of the sourced facts; not hands-on testing.

Pricing

Billing model
Usage-basedSource ↗
Selected paid rateSelected plans, not equivalent baskets. USD unless stated; taxes, add-ons and regional terms may differ.
Published USD estimate: 0.00025/email (0.25/1,000), plus transferred data.Source ↗
Free tier / trial
Azure new-account offer: USD 200 credit for 30 days; eligibility applies, not a permanent email allowance.Source ↗
Overage
Usage-based charges for each recipient and transferred data; not a fixed email bundle.Source ↗
Data / attachment charges
Published USD estimate: 0.00012/MB transferred; agreement/currency may affect rates.Source ↗
What counts as an email
Per recipient, plus bytes transferred including headers, body, images and attachments.Source ↗
Credit expiry
Azure introductory USD 200 credit valid for 30 days.Source ↗

Reliability

Official incident historyProvider-reported status, not independent monitoring or a live health indicator.
Official status pageOpen ↗
Contractual uptime SLAA service commitment, not observed uptime. Eligibility, exclusions and credit rules differ.
Needs confirmation
Review details

The current Microsoft SLA download could not be retrieved during this review, so an email-specific percentage is not asserted.

Reviewed 2026-09-08

Reviewed source 1 ↗
Measured uptime
Not measured
Measured delivery latency
Not measured
Measured inbox placement
Not measured

Sending & features

HTTP API
REST sending and send-result APIs; API version 2025-09-01.Source ↗
SMTP relay
AvailableSource ↗
SDKs
Email SDKs availableSource ↗
Templates / editor
Not stated in reviewed docs
Review details

Sending HTML and text is documented; a managed template library or editor was not confirmed.

Reviewed 2026-09-08

Reviewed source 1 ↗Reviewed source 2 ↗
Webhooks
Event Grid webhooks for delivery reports and open/click engagement; Event Grid costs apply.Source ↗
Inbound processing
Not stated in reviewed docs
Review details

An inbound receiving or parsing workflow was not confirmed in the reviewed product documentation.

Reviewed 2026-09-08

Reviewed source 1 ↗Reviewed source 2 ↗
Campaigns / automation
Bulk and marketing sending supported; your application manages campaigns.Source ↗
Analytics
Bounce, blocked, open and click trackingSource ↗

Operations & security

Suppression management
Suppression list supportSource ↗
Daily / request limits
Higher sending quotas require approval and verified custom domains; Azure-managed domains are not eligible.Source ↗
Log / activity retention
Delivery logs stored in your Azure Monitor workspace; configure its retention.Source ↗
Dedicated IP
Not stated in reviewed docs
Review details

Current dedicated-IP availability and eligibility were not established in the reviewed product documentation.

Reviewed 2026-09-08

Reviewed source 1 ↗Reviewed source 2 ↗
Hosting / region notes
Email processed in resource Data Location; Monitor workspace is customer-selected. Event Grid may store events globally.Source ↗
Sending domains
Azure-managed domain or verified custom sending domains.Source ↗
Sender authentication
SPF and DKIM; ARC supportSource ↗
SSO
Not stated in reviewed docs
Review details

External identity-provider SSO protocols and plan eligibility were not established for this product.

Reviewed 2026-09-08

Reviewed source 1 ↗Reviewed source 2 ↗
Support channels
Not stated in reviewed docs
Review details

The reviewed materials do not establish the support-channel and plan-eligibility matrix.

Reviewed 2026-09-08

Reviewed source 1 ↗Reviewed source 2 ↗
Setup requirements
Separate Email Communication resource requiredSource ↗

Resources

Website
Official resourceOpen ↗
Documentation
Official resourceOpen ↗
Pricing page
Official resourceOpen ↗

Sources & review scope

Reviewed 2026-09-08. Values are taken from official materials; plan restrictions may apply. Delivery speed, observed uptime and inbox placement have not been independently measured.

Official references (9)
How this comparison is maintained →

Explore similar providers

Cloud providers

Amazon SES

AWS sending infrastructure with usage-based pricing and separately priced delivery options.

À la carte: USD 0.10/1,000 outbound emails

New AWS accounts: up to USD 200 eligible-service credits, subject to AWS Free Tier conditions.

Cloud providers

Alibaba Cloud DirectMail

Cloud email delivery with resource packages and pay-as-you-go billing.

Pay-as-you-go: USD 0.29/1,000 emails

One-time 2,000 emails/account, up to 200 free/day; separate new-customer package promotion subject to purchase page.